
     WHAT IF YOUR BALL GETS STUCK IN A TREE 

 
 

Procedure When Player’s Ball Is dislodged from Tree 

 

Rule 9.4 applies wherever a ball in play is on the course.  

This includes when a ball is in a tree. However, when the 

player does not intend to play the ball as it lies but is trying 

only to identify it, or intends to retrieve it to use another Rule, 

the Exceptions to Rule 9.4b apply and there is no penalty. For 

example: 
Jean-Claude under the tree 
 

• In searching for their ball, a player sees a ball lying in a tree but cannot 

identify it. The player climbs the tree in an attempt to identify the ball and 

in doing so accidentally dislodges the ball from the tree. The ball is 

identified as the player's ball. In this case, since the ball was accidentally 

moved in taking reasonable actions to identify it, there is no penalty for 

moving the ball (Rule 7.4).  

The player must replace the ball or may directly use a relief Rule (such as 

Rule 19 - Unplayable Ball).  

In two situations, the player's only option is to take relief under a relief 

Rule: 

 

• The player is unable to replace the ball because they cannot reach 

the spot where the ball was moved from when the player was 

identifying it, or 

• The player can reach that spot but the ball will not come to rest on 

that spot and the player cannot reach the spot where it will come to 

rest under Rule 14.2e (Replaced Ball Does Not Stay on Spot). 

 

• A player's ball has not yet been found but is believed to be lodged in a tree 

in the general area. The player makes it clear that if the ball is found they 

will take unplayable ball relief under Rule 19.  

The player shakes the tree; the ball falls down and is identified by the 

player within three minutes of starting search. The player may now take 

relief under Rule 19 (Unplayable Ball) adding only the one penalty stroke 

prescribed by that Rule with no additional penalty for causing the ball to 
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move. If not known, the player must estimate the spot where the ball lay in 

the tree when applying Rule 19. 

 

However, if the player moves the ball when they are not intending to identify it 

or without intending to take relief under another Rule, the player does get a 

penalty for a breach of Rule 9.4. For example: 

 

• A player's ball is in a tree and they intend to play it. In preparing for the 

stroke, the player accidentally dislodges the ball.  

The player gets one penalty stroke under Rule 9.4 for causing the ball to 

move. The player must replace the ball or may take relief directly under a 

relief Rule. If the player takes relief under Rule 19, they get a total of two 

penalty strokes, one under Rule 9.4 and one under Rule 19. 

 
 

More information in: https://www.randa.org/rog/clarifications/rule-9 
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